Last post, I shared a list of Utah slang that I put together in order to help you understand what the heck (see what I did there?) Utahns are talking about when you visit. This post, I will give you a little insight into the Utah dialect. It mostly involves being too lazy to pronounce letters the way they were intended to be pronounced, or dropping them from words altogether by not pronouncing them at all.

Any guesses as to what the title of this blog post refers to? “You have to visit Utah, our mow’uns are absolutely gorgeous” That’s right, the mountains in Utah are absolutely gorgeous. You might know what the frickin’ heck they were talking about if the mountains in Utah still contained the letter “t” in their pronunciation. You’d think Utahns could pronounce the letter “t” being that it is in the name of their own state, and they always pronounce that correctly. They also love to completely drop the letter “g” from words ending in “ing”. Below are some examples of what I am talking about.

lay’un = Layton ( a city in Northern Utah, just North of Salt Lake)
bu’un = button
libary = library (many Utahns just drop that second “r”)
crick = creek
fark = fork (I bet you thought it was another replacement for the F word, didn’t you?)
melk = milk
Mundee = Monday
swimmin’ = just add the “g” on the end
runnin’ = again with the dropped “g”
bikin’ = seriously, just pronounce the “g”
workin’ = I think you get the idea. If it ends in “ing”, Utahns don’t pronounce the “g”

And when I say, “they” or “Utahn”, of course I also mean me. Being from Utah, I catch myself falling into this way of speaking, especially droppin’ those g’s from the end of words. I almost always catch myself, though, and then just cringe.

So, let me ask, what have the last two posts taught you about Utah? Do you think you might now be able to carry on a conversation with a real, live Utahn and possibly pass off as one yourself, or at least understand what they are saying? It comes down to simply remembering these three simple rules:

  1. Don’t pronounce a “t” if it is the first letter of the second syllable of a word
  2. Don’t pronounce “g’s” as part of the suffix “ing”
  3. Don’t swear. Come up with some silly word that sort of sounds like the real thing, but not really

(Photo from the Salt Lake Convention and Visitors Bureau)

